Temenos

March 10, 2010 at 10:28 pm (Uncategorized)

This dress is worn by Phèdre while still on Crete.

I had a little fun with this dress and mantle.  The description is reasonably vague, so I took a lot of liberties.  I looked at Greek and Roman draping to figure out how this dress could work.  Under the mantle, it’s actually a one-shouldered number. I especially like the tassel trim on the coat.  It’s described simply as a gown of saffron with a crimson mantle.

The yellow silk is for the dress.  The red is for the coat.  I wanted to add some embroidery so I found a tiny meander embroidery symbol (very Greek) and included it.  The brown velvet acts as a trim with an extra layer of tassel for fun.  I realize now that I found a necklace for her but didn’t draw it.  Oh well!

1 Comment

  1. zeldyn said,

    I love that you are doing this! I have been following your progress for a while, now; but it occurred to me tonight that I had not commented. Loving your designs, I would like to work them into cosplay or perhaps my artwork sometime.

    Keep up the awesome designing!

    !Z

Leave a Reply

