Among the Skaldi

November 1, 2008 at 2:25 am (Uncategorized)

So, I logged onto the blog today to check the traffic, expecting it to be along the line of 3 visitors today.  To my surprise, I’ve had 55!  It seems that the wonderful Jacqueline Carey herself has linked to my blog!  How very exciting!  I must admit that I did a bit of a happy dance.  So I figured I might as well strike while the iron is hot and try to got a few more costumes up.

So here, is what I figure Phedre is wearing when presented to Waldemar Selig in Kushiel’s Dart.  It’s described in the book as a gown of combed white wool with hair down.  I have also taken liberties with combining the dress with the cloak that Phedre and Jocelin steal before escaping.  So, here is the dress and cloak.

The cloak is made from wolf fur.  I am a bit unsure of something and if anyone out there can clear it up, I can make any necessary corrections.  I think that the cloak was stolen from one of the white brethren, which would mean that the wolf fur would be white.  I am not sure and had chosen fabrics that was normal coloured wolf fur. When colouring however, I left it white, just in case.  So let me know what you think.

1 Comment

  1. Melissa said,

    FINALLY!!!!! someone else who is obssessed and in love with the books as I am…. I think your costumes are amazing and the details you have included complete the looks so incredibly well. I am in awe of your ideas. I hope somebody does make the movies someday…

Leave a Reply

